Columbia Star

1963        Celebrating 60 Years      2023

School News Briefs

Kindergarten registration for the 2024-2025 school year in Lexington-Richland School District Five begins on February 5. Registration will take place during regular school office hours, Monday through Friday, excluding school holidays.

Registration for the 4-year-old tuition-based pre-kindergarten program, EXCEL (Exposing Children to Early Learning) in Lexington-Richland School District Five at Irmo Elementary begins February 5. Enrollment will be on a first-come, first-served basis and will be limited to 20 students. All additional children will be placed on a waiting list for the class. 803-476-4200

Lexington-Richland School District Five has been awarded a two-year Stronger Connections Grant from the South Carolina Department of Education to support expanded services for students at Irmo Middle School.

 Chapin High School varsity cheerleader Taylor Graves has been named the South Carolina High School League (SCHSL) Division 5A Cheerleader of the Year.

Irmo High School student athlete Matthew Blocker has been named to participate on the South Carolina High School League’s (SCHSL) Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC).


Stephen Duerr of Rosewood Elementary School, Kottika Sandhya Rani of W.G. Sanders Middle School, and Trent Rogerson of Dreher High School have earned the gold standard of the profession— National Board Certification.

 Thirteen Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars, including Busbee Creative Arts Academy— Nathan Boulet, Patrick Lovett, and Mackenna Maddox; Fulmer Middle School—Colton Jennings, Christopher Scott, Lore Stabler, and Isabella Szczechowski; Northside Middle School—Brennan Gocke-Anderson and Bentley Tiedman; Pine Ridge Middle School—Ayden Diaz, Mariana Hernandez-Villegas, Raymond Russell, and Jaiden Sherman.

Richland One parents and guardians can now get notifications about their children’s bus route on their phone. Richland One Student Transportation Services rolled out the Traversa Ride 360 mobile app January 22.


Brian Lim has been named principal of Meadow Glen Middle School.

H.E. Corley Elementary School has received recertification as a Leader in Me Lighthouse School by FranklinCovey Education.

Ridge View High School has earned the College Board AP® Computer Science Female Diversity Award for achieving high female representation in AP Computer Science Principles (AP CSP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.