Columbia Star

Richland County residents speak out in opposition to Land Development Code

Richland County Council met May 17 at 6 p.m. All council members were present: Chair Overture Walker (District Eight), Vice Chair Jesica Mackey (District Nine), council member Bill Malinowski (District One), council member Derrek Pugh (District Two), council member Yvonne McBride (District Three), council member Paul Livingston (District Four), council member Allison Terracio (District Five), council member Joe Walker III (District Six), council member Gretchen Barron (District Seven), council member Cheryl English (District Ten), and council member Chakisse Newton (District 11).

The following proclamations were approved and presented by the council: “National Public Works Week” May 15-21, honoring Richland County Emergency Medical Service Employees, and honoring the 2022-2023 Junior League of Columbia President Rania Jamison.

Seven Richland County residents addressed the council during the public hearing for the Ordinance Amending Ordinance #05-53.5-31 to adopt the Richland County Land Development Code Rewrite and to replace Chapter 26, Land Development amending the effective dates of its provision and clarification of interim procedures. All who spoke were opposed to the rewrite.

Two members of the Blythewood community presented petitions. One petition was signed by over 1,400 residents, the other by over 200 residents opposing the rewrite.

Council member Barron shared the recommendations of the Rules & Appointments Committee for the following notification of vacancies on boards and commissions:

1. Accommodations Tax—seven vacancies (two applicants must have a background in the lodging industry, three must have a background in the hospitality industry, one must have a cultural background, and one will fill an at-large seat) 2. Airport Commission— one vacancy 3. Board of Assessment Appeals—one vacancy 4. Board of Zoning Appeals—six vacancies

5. Building Codes Board of Appeals—nine vacancies (one applicant must be from the architecture industry, one from the gas industry, one from the building industry, one from the contracting industry, one from the plumbing industry, one from the electrical industry, one from the engineering industry, and two from the fire industry as alternates)

6. Business Service Center—four vacancies (one applicant must be from the business industry, one an attorney, and two CPAs)

7. Central Midlands Council of Governments— one vacancy

8. Community Relations Council—one vacancy

9. Employee Grievance Committee—two vacancies must be a Richland County employee and two seats are alternates.

10. Hospitality Tax— two vacancies (one applicant must be from the restaurant industry)

11. Internal Audit Committee—two vacancies (applicant with CPA preferred)

12. Lexington Richland Alcohol and Drug Abuse Council (LRADAC)— two vacancies

13. Music Festival— one vacancy

14. Planning Commission— three vacancies

15. Richland Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees—three vacancies

16. Township Auditorium— two vacancies

17. Transportation Penny Advisory Committee (TPAC)—three vacancies

Employee Grievance Committee—Kimberly Toney ( Transportation Department) was recommended and John Robert Dunn (Solicitor’s Office) was recommended as an alternate.

The council approved all the recommendations of the Rules & Appointments Committee.

The council approved the resolution to appoint and commission Eric Williams, Brian Wehrmeister, and Andrew Weaver as code enforcement officers for the proper security, general welfare, and convenience of Richland County.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.