Columbia Star

1963        Celebrating 60 Years      2023

RCPL Project recognizes young talent



The work of 118 Midlands students has been selected for publication in

Kids in Print, the Richland County Public Library’s annual collection of stories, poems and art.

Students, ages six to 18, featured in this year’s edition include Christopher Anderson, St. Andrews Middle School; Griffin Bates, Heathwood Hall Episcopal School; Shaamel Bates, Blythewood High School; Sydney Bertram, River Springs Elementary School; Olivia Burley, Sandhills School; Elias Buttrey, H.E. Corley Elementary School; Anna Chadwell, Montessori School of Columbia; Robin Charles, Forest Lake Elementary School; Eric Chen, Ballentine Elementary School; Macey Coulter, Pontiac Elementary School; Erin Cribbs, Chapin Elementary School; Jamie Crocker, Crayton Middle School; Tagan Daly, Lake Murray Elementary School; Sarah Drake, Sandhills School; Whit Edmonds, Sandhills School; Madison Estridge, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Daulton Farrell, Logan Elementary School; Wanda Felsenhardt, Hand Middle School; Matthew Fender, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Madeline Foley, Hand Middle School; Gabrielle Fulton, Hand Middle School; Macie Goodman, Chapin Elementary School; Madeline Goodman, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Kelli Gould, Southeast Middle School; Robert Green, Eau Claire High School; Maggie Hair, Blythewood Middle School; Brianna Harris, Hand Middle School; Derek von der Hellen, Lake Murray Elementary School; Anna Hoecke, Sandhills School; Malcolm Holland, Anna Boyd Elementary School; Lilly Heidari, St. Joseph Catholic School; James Hills, Heathwood Hall Episcopal School; Sarah Hudgins, Hand Middle School; Keris Hudley, Bethel-Hanberry Elementary School; Cole Huneycutt, H.E.Corley Elementary School; Jocasta James, L.W. Conder Elementary School; Nicolette Jeantilus, South Carolina Virtual Charter School; Alex Jeter, Hand Middle School; Joshua Junious, Dent Middle School; Mary King, Irmo Middle School; Henry Kerfoot, Sandhills School; Sarah Kerfoot, Sandhills School; Ryan King, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Ben Kline, Sandhills School; Lane Kosmata, Sandhills School; Caitlin Kunchur, Timmerman School; Rahem LaDon, Richland One Middle College; Caroline McClintock LaFitte, Satchel Ford Elementary School; Elizabeth Lambe, Satchel Ford Elementary School; Eloise Lamie, North Springs Elementary School; Hannah Lawson, Chapin Elementary School; Zoe Lockart, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Whitney Matthews, Lugoff- Elgin High School; Bri Mazzei, Pleasant Hill Elementary School; Mariah McDonaugh, Crossroads Middle School; Harrison Mill, Pleasant Hill Middle School; Isaac Moore, Timmerman School; Alex Muccio, Dutch Fork High School; Fatimah Muhammad, Richland One Middle College; Makenzie Owens, Dent Middle School; Tulsi Patel, Dutch Fork Middle School; Margaret Pardue, Round Top Elementary School; Ellie Pobis, St. John Neumann Catholic School; Alex Rice, Hammond School; Jackie Rice, Hammond School; Kale Rhame, Lake Murray Elementary School; Marcus Robertson, Bethel–Hanberry Elementary School; Andrea Robichaud, St. Peter’s Catholic School; Clover Robichaud, St. Peter’s Catholic School; Rachel Ross, New Heights Elementary School; Zachary Rue, Hand Middle School; Heriot Sadler, Hammond School; Frances Sadler, Hammond School; Selina Sanchez, Southeast Middle School; Zeinab Sharif, Hyatt Park Elementary School; Emily Shelton, Ballentine Elementary School; Izel Shiver, Gibbes Middle School; Ethan Speer, Columbia Jewish Day School; Megan Swistak, Chapin Elementary School; Liam Toumey, St. Peter’s Catholic School; Cole Upton, Chapin Elementary School; Jacob Vandenberg, Heathwood Hall Episcopal School; Jayanth Vemula, Lake Carolina Elementary School; Rashmili Vemula, Ridge View High School; Devonté Walker, Joseph Keels Elementary School; Ryan Weaver, Bookman Road Elementary School; Tiffany Wei, Dutch Fork Middle School; Courtnie Wooten, Congaree Elementary School; Kellie Wooten, Congaree Elementary School; and Katherine Zobel, Chapin Middle School.

Homeschool students selected include: Lily Aluri, Jacqueline Belton, Sophia Castell, Carolyn Chalfant, Kate Chalfant, Julia Cline, Rachel Cline, Sarah Cline, Mazie Cook, Walt Cook, Mary Kathryn Davidson, Andrew Houde, Dahlia Jacobs, Dawson Jacobs, Arianna Kruidenier, Ellen Kruidenier, Alena McIntyre, Chloe McIntyre, Julia Miller, Libby Myers, Wesley Myers, John Mark Porter, Sarah Porter, James Pulliam, Katia Rodengen, Jackie Van Rijn, Jerryana Williams and Joseph Williams.

A special program entitled Kids In Print: Authors, Artists and Awards will be held Saturday, May 8 at the Main Library to recognized those whose work was selected. Artwork from the 2010 edition of

Kids in Print is on display on the Garden Level of the Main Library May 6 through June 21.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.