Columbia Star

1963        Celebrating 60 Years      2023

Dreher, Flora, Ben Lippen boys & Heathwood, Ben Lippen girls with Lake Murray Top 10 finishes

The Chapin Eagle girls’ cross country team edged Greer Middle College Charter to win the Mike Moore Lake Murray Invitational Saturday, September 17. Abigail White led the Eagles finishing eighth in the individual standings with a time of 19:07.21.

The Heathwood Hall Highlanders took third place led by Madelyn Gomez’s third place finish in a time of 18: 23.11. Lydia Smith was 11th in a time of 19: 20.79, and Mary Frances Iseman took 12th place in a time of 19:26.76.

Jais Ward led the Ben Lippen Falcons to fifth place as she finished in fifth place in the individual standings in a time of 18:44.80. Kate Hoover was 21st in a time of 19:44.42, and Chloe Davis was 31st in a time of 20:16.53

Other schools of interest included A. C. Flora which finished 10th led by Ashlynn Capell’s 36th place finish in a time of 20:36.88.

Cardinal Newman’s Caroline Timmons broke a school record with a time of 19:05.36, which was good enough for seventh place. Her Cardinals finished in 12th place.

Blythewood was 13th led by Anna Kelly in 27th place with a time of 20:09.28. Hammond was 15th, Irmo took 17th place, and Dreher finished in 26th place.

Fort Mill freshman Alivia Cleveland won the race in a time of 18:08.67. She was followed by May River’s Anya Arroyo.

A total of 30 teams and 209 runners placed on the girls’ side.

On the boys side, Fort Mill took top honors, followed by River Bluff and Chapin.

Augusta Prep’s Hayes Trapp won the race in a time of 15: 18.76. Southside Christian’s Grayson Gibbons was second in a time of 15:33.41, and Walhalla’s Elijah Poore was third in a time of 15:38.69.

Dreher’s Sam Kolowith finished in seventh place in a time of 16:13.12 leading the Blue Devils to a sixth place team finish. Ivan Diaz was 21st in a time of 16:40.87, and Liam Jones was 26th in a time of 16:51.50.

The A.C. Flora Falcons took seventh place led by JC Blackwelder’s 29th place finish in a time of 16:58.81.

The other Falcons from Ben Lippen finished in tenth place led by Samari Van Horn’s 47th place finish in a time of 17:19.04.

Heathwood Hall’s Jackson Engh took 23rd place in a time of 16:44.83 leading the Highlanders to a 13th place finish.

Blythewood’s Jacob Powell finished in 18th place in a time of 16:38.76 leading his Bengals to a 15th place finish.

Irmo took 18th place led by Jonah Wendland’s 33rd place finish in a time of 17:01.19.

Hammond was 28th, and Cardinal Newman was 30th.

A total of 35 teams and 230 individuals placed on the boys’ side.

-Source: sc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.