Columbia Star

1963        Celebrating 60 Years      2023

District Five students awarded academic honors

A total of 111 Lexington Richland School District Five students have earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These National Recognition Programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with universities across the country, helping them meaningfully connect to colleges and stand out during the admissions process. Colleges and scholarship programs identify students awarded National African American, Hispanic, Indigenous, and/or Rural/Small Town Recognition through College Board’s Student Search Service.

The following School District Five students represent all four of the district high schools: Morgan Baxter, Ezekiel Bennett, Jenna Bitar, Katherine Bogan, Judson Brice, Precious Bross, Nadia Burkett, Kathryn Canfield, Kevin Chapman, Lauren Chapple, Saanvi Cherukumalli, Sarah Chrif, Richard Coffy, Emerson Compton, Margaret Corley, Canaan Dantzler, Damien Dedmond, Allison Donald, Emily Dufault, William Edwards, Katelyn Elsasser, Abigail Evans, Andrew Farmer, Mason Favati, Katelyn Fennell, Caroline Foushee, Mckinley Goodwin, Mary Grabulis, Ava Grant, Ryan Greene, Natalia Gonzalez-Guzman, Ava Grimaud, Ava Grant, Mathew Gummere, Caroline Hatfield, Ethan Harder, Cassia Holden, James Holliday, Camryn Hollmon, Kayce Hyman, Arthur Johnson, Blythe Jowers, Morgan Kinder, Olivia Lee, Hollingsworth Lesesne, Ethan Likas, Spencer Likas, Elinor Limbaugh, Michael Lipsey, Kate Livingston, Sakyo Maeda, Seigo Maeda, Ava McCarty, Fred McGaughey, Regan McGuire, Emily McMahan, Luke Major, Madeline McMillion, Jackson McMillon, Caroline Moran, Peter Muller, Annelise Murdaugh, Henri Murthy, Malcolm Nesbit, Charles Newhouse, Darwin Newman- Norlund, Lilly O’Leary, Simon Oliver, Ansley Othersen, Maureen Ortiz, Aaron Parr, Caleb Pauling, Bryce Pickens, Kennedy Preston, Alicia Qian, Stella Redner, Audrey Reichart, Paige Rhue, Grace Risha, Sofie Rivera, Ian Rogers, Carlynn Rychener, Pooja Saji, Sofia Segura, Benny Shtutman, Zachary Slice, Colin Smith, Amanda Speaks, Ethan Spencer, Saina Srivastava, Abigail Stalker, Mackenzie Stephens, Julianna Stewart, Kathryn Stover, Esther Su, Hana Taye, Jenne Taylor, Asher Thompson, Emily Thurman, Katelyn Timmons, Erika Tisdale, Anna Tucker, Elizabeth Tsyplakova, Kaden Van Leuven, Diani Vega, Cecilia Viera-Atwell, Ethan Von Ahn, Gibson Ward, Shailynn Weekley, Rachel West, Lance Williams, and Nathaniel Yturria.

“We’re thrilled so many of our students have earned this recognition. We are very proud of them for their achievements in their classrooms and on College Board assessments,” said School District Five Chief of Academics and Administration Anna Miller. “These programs help students from underrepresented backgrounds stand out to colleges and universities during the admissions process.”

Students who may be eligible have a GPA of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/ NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP exams; and are African American or black, Hispanic American or Latinx, indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town.

“We want to honor the hard work of these students through the College Board National Recognition Programs. This program creates a way for colleges and scholarship programs to connect directly with underrepresented students who they are hoping to reach,” said Tarlin Ray, College Board senior vice president of BigFuture. “We hope the award winners and their families celebrate this prestigious honor and it helps them plan for their big future.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.