Columbia Star

1963        Celebrating 60 Years      2023

Columbia extends mask ordinance

The Columbia City Council met Tuesday, October 5.

Council approved an extension of an emergency ordinance to temporarily suspend normal operating procedures of city council; city boards and commissions meetings; and allow the mayor, council, and board members and commission members to remotely participate in voting and operational procedures by telephone or other means of electronic communication.

Face coverings will also be required in public places in Columbia. Any person who is not of age, has an underlying health condition, or is unable to remove a face coverings without the assistance of others is exempt from the ordinance.

Any person who fails to comply with the ordinance may receive a fine of up to $100.

The extension is set to expire in 61 days.

Council approved a resolution for the honorary naming of the corner of Booker Street and Piedmont Avenue as “Bible Way Piedmont Lane.”

Mayor Steve Benjamin made the following proclamations:

•October 2021 as Fire Prevention month;

•October 2021 as Domestic Violence Awareness month; and

•October 5, 2021 as Hotel Trundle Day.

Council approved the first reading of the following ordinances:

•Authorizing the city manager to execute the first extension option of the lease renewal agreement with Truist Bank f/k/a Branch Banking and Trust Company (BB&T) for use of 3905 Ensor Avenue; and

•Authorizing the City of Columbia, South Carolina to execute and deliver an Equipment Lease Purchase Agreement in the amount not to exceed $9,000,000 between the city and the lessor thereof to defray the cost of acquiring certain equipment.

Sherard Duvall has been appointed to a three-year term on the Board of Zoning Appeals.

William Baker and Julie Tuttle have been appointed to four-year terms on the Citizens Advisory Committee for Community Development.

Seth Stoughton, Reverend W. Andrew Waldo, Robert “Bob” Wynn Jr., and Kimberly Castell have been reappointed and Carlotta Stackhouse, Nyeem Al-Tariq McDaniels, Tracy Meyers, Patricia W. Brown, David J. Cochrane, and Robert D. Griffin have been appointed to the Citizens Advisory Council to the Columbia Police Department.

Earl Ellis has been appointed to a five-year term to the Columbia Museum of Art.

J. Scott Jailette, Jennifer Diaby, Amy Husman, and Jean Harris has been appointed to a two-year term to the Columbia Prepares Advisory Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.