2018-09-07 / Business

Attorneys Honored

The South Carolina Association for Justice (SCAJ) has named attorney Theile McVey of Kassel McVey as president. McVey is taking over leadership of the state’s largest association of plaintiff lawyers. She will be replacing attorney Hugh McAngus Jr. whose one-year term has expired.

McVey serves as an active member in the South Carolina Bar Association. She also serves as a member of the Law Alumni Council for the USC School of Law. She has received numerous awards from various organizations such as the South Carolina Super Lawyer (2013 to 2018), Legal Elite of the Midlands (2011 to 2018), and recipient of the 2017 Gold Compleat Lawyer Award from USC School of Law (the highest award given to alumnae of the school).

Wm. Bert Brannon, a partner at Callison Tighe & Robinson, has been named Lawyer of the Year in litigation–trusts and estates in the latest edition of Best Lawyers in America. A South Carolina Supreme Court Certified Specialist in estate planning and probate law, Brannon assists clients with all stages of the business life cycle, from planning and creation to succession planning.

Marguerite S. Willis Marguerite S. Willis Brannon is among 10 Callison Tighe attorneys who were recognized across a wide range of practice areas in the latest edition of Best Lawyers in America.

Nekki Shutt, a founding partner of Burnett Shutt & McDaniel, has earned Lawyer of the Year honors in the practice area of Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law in the 2019 edition of Best Lawyers in America. It’s the third consecutive year Shutt has been honored as a Lawyer of the Year. In the 2018 edition, she received the award in employment law–individuals, while in 2017 she achieved the distinction in litigation–ERISA.

A South Carolina Certified Specialist in employment and labor law, Shutt’s wide-ranging legal practice includes extensive work with ERISA benefits.

The McKay Firm has announced the addition of Lauren Trask as the newest attorney at the firm. Trask practices in the areas of general insurance defense, employment defense, and civil litigation.

Marguerite S. Willis, Nexsen Pruet antitrust and unfair competition attorney, will be honored with the 2018 Jean Galloway Bissell Award by the South Carolina Women Lawyers Association (SCWLA) during the organization’s upcoming annual conference.

The annual award, which will be presented to Willis during a reception on October 19, 2018, is named for Jean Galloway Bissell (1936-1990), South Carolina’s first female lawyer to be confirmed as a federal judge.

Willis established a reputation for delivering highly effective and highly successful litigation strategies. With a track-record spanning decades, she has been involved in some of Nexsen Pruet’s largest verdicts. She has served as national counsel for a number of cases, including federal and state class actions, and prosecuted major antitrust matters involving a wide range of claims, from unfair trade practices and false advertising to monopolization and vicarious corporate liability.

Outside of the courtroom, Willis has dedicated her time and talent to helping to build the next generation of women business leaders. In 2015, she was named president of SCWLA, after serving as president-elect, treasurer and board member of the organization. During Hilary Clinton’s historic 2016 Presidential campaign, Willis received national press coverage for her efforts as a state Democratic delegate. In 2018, she ran for South Carolina’s Democratic nomination for Governor, joining the historic surge in women running for office.

Adams and Reese announced six attorneys in the 2019 edition of The Best Lawyers in America. The lawyers include: John F. Beach, commercial litigation; Robert P. Bethea Jr., corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, tax law; William P. McElveen Jr., banking and finance law, real estate law; W. Cliff Moore III, commercial litigation, litigation–banking and finance, litigation–real estate; Kirby D. Shealy III, personal injury litigation– plaintiffs; Lana H. Sims Jr., commercial litigation, insurance law, workers’ compensation law–employers

Return to top