2018-06-08 / Education

Richland Two May 22 school board meeting highlights

Special Recognitions

• The Richland Northeast High Model United Nations team won the first place Award of Distinction at the National High School Model U.N. conference for the 29th time. Team members include Kevin Cao, William Cason, Hannah Cross , Caleb Daniels, Wade Fletcher, Andrea Kimpson, Savanna King, Scott Moore, Max Petersen, Audrey Royal, Hayle Turner, Aditya Valluri, and Annelisa Walters. Advisers are Samantha Rainwater and Marques Ardoin.

• Malika Lightbourne from Ridge View High won the Gold Medal on the 2018 National Spanish Exam.

• Ridge View High students Keianna Benson and Kaylan Cooper won first place in Business Law and Ethics Team Decision Making at the State DECA competition. Longtime advisor Pat Jackson was named an Honorary Life Member of DECA and received the DECA Advisor’s Award for South Carolina.

• Ridge View High students Iyanna Chapman, Miranda Hurt, and Faith Thompson won first place in Creative Problem Solving at the State HOSA competition.

• Ridge View High’s Victor ia Jackson was inducted into the Terry McCoy Student Council Hall of Fame, and Ridge View High Student Counci l received the Gold Honor Council Award.

• Richland Northeast High’s Justin Castro was inducted into the Terry McCoy Student Council Hall of Fame.

• Westwood High students Hailey Zalewa, Deskychun Davis, Jewel Dinkins, Alyssa Maul, and Arianna Wilson won top awards and recognition from the S.C. Association of Student Councils. Avé Parker and Jewel Dinkins won first place awards from the Southern Association of Student Councils.

Return to top