2017-05-19 / On Second Thought

Lost Landscapes

By Robin Waites

In 1961 the Ansley Hall Mansion, the Robert Millsdesigned residence at 1616 Blanding Street, was under threat of demolition. The call to preserve this landmark building turned into a rallying cry that led to the formation of Historic Columbia Foundation.

When Historic Columbia gives tours of the property, known today as the Robert Mills House & Gardens, visitors are astounded this regal, 1820s building was targeted for demolition. At the time, the potential for new development on this four-acre lot blinded some to the significance of the existing building, which is now a major draw for tourists and a defining feature of local architectural and cultural history. Unfortunately, many character defining places have not been granted the same reprieve.

Before the adoption of the National Preservation Act in 1966 and subsequent establishment of the local Landmarks Commission (today’s Design Development Review Commission) the demolition of significant buildings went unregulated.


The historic building at 1401 Assembly was recently demolished. The historic building at 1401 Assembly was recently demolished. Although review guidelines have been in place for more than 50 years, we still experience the loss, particularly of those structures that may not be perceived as mainstream historic sites.

Over the last decade some of the unique buildings lost in this community include the Richland County Jail (SW corner of Hampton and Lincoln streets, George Elmore’s 5&10 Store (2317 Gervais Street), the Susannah Apartments (NE corner of Hampton and Bull streets), the Abbott Cigar Building (1300 Main Street) and several early 1900s residences along Devine Street.

While perhaps not as iconic as the Robert Mills House, each of these sites represented a time period, building style and/or historic event and provided context to our fast-changing built environment.

Just last week, a 100- year-old building on a central commercial corridor fell to the wrecking ball. The structure at 1401 Assembly (NW corner of Washington and Assembly streets) stood at the entry point to the once-teeming Black Business District that centered around Washington Street.

By 1916, in addition to housing the blacked-owned Regal Drug Store on the first floor, upstairs were offices for two African American physicians and a lawyer, Nathaniel J. Frederick, who was an educator, lawyer, newspaper editor and civil rights activist.

Frederick argued more cases before the Supreme Court of South Carolina than any black lawyer of his day. The building stood as a touchstone for the story of Frederick and many others, but also as one of fewer than 10 buildings remaining that were part of this early 20th century district.

When we walk through thriving historic districts like the Congaree Vista or Elmwood Park, it is clear the preservation of our built assets can serve as an economic engine as well as providing context for who we are as a community.

Historic Columbia works actively to gain protections for endangered buildings and districts; however, key partners in this effort must include property owners, developers, real estate professionals, elected officials, and the general public who reap the benefits and suffer the blows of the choices made in the built environment.

Join the mission to save Columbia’s built history and get involved with Historic Columbia today. Become a member, join the volunteer force, make a donation, attend events, and follow along on social media. Visit historiccolumbia.org to learn how you can get involved.

Return to top