2015-03-20 / Business

Attorneys Honored

John E. Cuttino of Gallivan, White & Boyd, P.A.has become first vice president of DRI–The Voice of the Defense Bar. Cuttino has long been involved with DRI, serving on the Board of Directors from 2009-2012, as secretarytreasurer in 2012-2013, and as second vice president in 2013-2014. He will serve as president of DRI in 2016- 2017.

Cuttino joined Gallivan, White & Boyd in 2014 as a shareholder. His practice focuses on the litigation of a variety of matters including class actions, design and construction defects, toxic and mass torts, insurance coverage, tort and personal injury, intellectual property, products liability, professional negligence, and alternative dispute resolution. Cuttino has tried over 75 cases to verdict as lead counsel during his legal career and is regularly retained by insurers, self-insureds, risk management entities, corporations, and individuals. His dedication to his clients and legal skill has led to recognitions by:

• Best Lawyers in America , litigation-construction

• Best Lawyers in America, product liability litigation–defendants

• South Carolina Super Lawyers, civil litigation

• Martindale- Hubbell ® Peer Review Rating ™–AV®

Beyond DRI, Cuttino is also very active in other areas of the legal profession and community. He is a member of the International Association of Defense Counsel, the National Foundation for Judicial Excellence, and the South Carolina Defense Trial Attorneys’ Association. Additionally, Cuttino has served his community through organizations such as Huguenot Society of South Carolina (past president) and the Columbia World Affairs Council (past chair of the board.)

For the seventh year, law firm Sowell, Gray, Stepp & Laffitte, LLC, and four of its members have been featured in the latest edition of Chambers USA– America’s Leading Lawyers for Business. In the publication, the Sowell Gray firm and members Betsy Gray, Biff Sowell, Bobby Stepp, and Cal Watson are ranked among the nation’s best in the area of general commercial litigation.

Sowell Gray was first honored in the publication in 2006.

Tina Cundari and Cal Watson of Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte, LLC, were honored at the South Carolina Lawyers Weekly’s 2015 Leadership in Law awards dinner held Thursday, March 12, 2015, in Charleston, S.C.

Cundari practices in the areas of commercial litigation, professional liability and ethics, and appellate law. Named one of the 20 Under 40 by The State Newspaper in 2012, she has been named a South Carolina Super Lawyer Rising Star in the area of business litigation in 2012, 2013, and 2014. She currently serves as president of the John Belton O’Neall Inn of Court and is the immediate past chair of the Board of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Columbia.

Watson’s practice focuses on commercial litigation, business dispute resolution, and professional liability and ethics. He has been named a South Carolina Super Lawyer for seven consecutive years, has been listed in Best Lawyers in America yearly since 2008, and has been listed in Chambers USA America’s Leading Lawyers for Business since 2009.

In early February, South Carolina Legislature elected Tanya Gee for the 9th At Large Seat on the SC Circuit Court. Gee was one of 22 judges that lawmakers selected for the Palmetto State.

Prior to taking her seat on the bench, she practiced law with the firm’s Business Litigation Group in Columbia.

Judge Tanya A. Gee was born in Grand Rapids, Michigan, in 1977 to Donald and Angelika Gee. After graduating from Northwestern High School in Rock Hill, South Carolina, Judge Gee earned her undergraduate degree from Winthrop University and her law degree from the University of South Carolina. However, she is a Clemson Tiger fan by marriage.

Judge Gee began her legal career as law clerk to Kaye G. Hearn, now of the South Carolina Supreme Court. She also served as a temporary law clerk for Judge C. Tolbert Goolsby while he sat on the trial bench as a special circuit court judge. She later served as Chief Staff Attorney and Clerk of Court for the South Carolina Court of Appeals.

Return to top