2012-03-09 / Society

Girl Scouts honor Five Women of Distinction

Contributed by Girl Scouts of South Carolina - Mountains to Midlands

The Girl Scouts of South Carolina - Mountains to Midlands will honor five Columbia-area women at its 19th Annual Women of Distinction Awards Dinner Thursday, March 22, 2012, at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center at 6:00 p.m. This event pays tribute to women who exemplify excellence in service, leadership, community, visibility, and professionalism. The five women who will be honored this year are Carolyn Cason Matthews, Patricia Moore- Pastides, Kay Thigpen, JoAnn M. Turnquist, and Genevieve N. Waller.

Carolyn Cason Matthews

A Columbia native, Carolyn Cason Matthews was elected by the South Carolina General Assembly to Administrative Law Court Seat No. 3 in 1999 and continues to serve in that position. She graduated from Furman University and received a J.D. degree from the University of South Carolina Law School. After serving as a staff attorney and law clerk to S.C. Supreme Court Justice George T. Gregory Jr., she was an assistant attorney general and counsel to the House of Representatives Judiciary Committee. She practiced law in the private sector for 10 years, with Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough and Woodward Cothran & Herndon. She currently serves as president of the South Carolina Women Lawyers Association.

Patricia Moore-Pastides

Patricia Moore-Pastides is the First Lady of the University of South Carolina and an accomplished cook, writer, and publichealth professional. She graduated with a B.A. from the College of the Holy Cross in Worcester, Masschusetts, and received a master in public health from Yale University School of Medicine. With the publication of her first book, Greek Revival: Cooking for Li fe, Moore- Pastides embarked on a campaign to introduce Americans to the health benefits of the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle. She currently serves on the boards of the Sisters of Charity Foundation, SC Ovarian Cancer Prevention- Riverbanks Region, and Trustus Theatre. She is also active on several University of South Carolina boards including USC Dance, McKissick Museum, the ExLibrus Society, the USC Colon Cancer Research Center, and the SC Archeology Research Trust. Kay Thigpen

Born and raised in New York City, Kay Thigpen is the co- founder/ managing director of the Trustus Theatre. She received her undergraduate degrees from Columbia College and a master in library science from the University of South Carolina. She and her husband, Jim, took a second mortgage on their home in 1985 and started Trustus that same year in a walk- up space on Assembly Street. From then to the present, she has served Trustus as its managing director. Her board memberships have included work with the South Carolina Arts Commission’s Advisory Board and the South Carolina Theatre Association. She also served as an adjudicator for the Theatre Division of Piccolo Spoleto. JoAnn Turnquist

JoAnn Turnquist is president & CEO of Central Carolina Community Foundation, a nonprofit, charitable organization that connects donors in the Midlands with the charitable and nonprofit organizations in their communities. She began her college education at Northwestern University and received a B.A. in city planning at Ohio State University. Prior to joining the foundation in 2009, she held a number of sales leadership assignments with Fortune 500 companies including Procter & Gamble and The Clorox Company. She is actively involved in many community organizations. She serves on the board of the Richland County Public Library, United Way of the Midlands, Columbia Opportunity Resource (COR), and the New Morning Foundation. She is a member of the Columbia Rotary Club and a Paul Harris Fellow. Genevieve N. Waller

Genevieve N. Waller has been the executive director of Sexual Trauma Services of the Midlands since October 2008 and a volunteer with the organization since 2004. She graduated from USC Law School after serving as president of Women in Law, as a member of the Pro Bono Board, and as the associate justice of administration for USC Law School Moot Court Bar. In 2008 the South Carolina Bar Young Lawyers Division chose her as their Young Lawyer of the Year for her commitment to public service and the profession. Two years ago The State named her as one of the Top 20 Under 40 in the Midlands. Among many of her community involvement activities, she is a member of Women in Philanthropy, Southeastern Institute for Women in Politics, Junior League of Columbia, and USC Women and Gender Studies Partnership Council, vice-chair. Speaker for the event

The evening’s keynote speaker will be Marva Smalls, executive vice president of Public Affairs, chief of staff for Nickelodeon Networks Group and executive vice president of Global Inclusion Strategy, Viacom. The selection process

States Kim Hutzell, president & CEO, Girl Scouts of South Carolina - Mountains to Midlands, “It is never easy to narrow the list of honorees. But, this year we had to actually expand the honors to five women because of the extraordinary accomplishments of all of them. And, never a requirement for selection, it is interesting to note they are all former Girl Scouts. They are excellent examples of the positive difference women leaders can make in a community.”

For ticket information to this annual fundraising event, contact Cyndi Massey, Fund Development Manager, 864-710- 6960, cmassey@gssc-mm.org, or visit www.GSSCMM. org. The Girl Scouts

For 100 years, Girl Scouting has helped girls develop positive values and become active, responsible leaders in their communities. With emphasis on personal growth and leadership development through service to others, Girl Scouting builds girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place. Girl Scouts of South Carolina- Mountains to Midlands serves more than 12,600 girls, grades K5- 12, and 5,000 adults in 22 counties of central and western South Carolina, including Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Cherokee, Chester, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenville, Greenwood, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Pickens, Richland, Saluda, Spartanburg, Sumter, and Union.

Return to top