2011-10-21 / Business

Folks about town

Stanford E. Lacy, founding partner with Collins & Lacy, P.C. has been named Lawyer of the Year for his work in workers’ compensation law in South Carolina.

Alexis Lindsay has joined Sowell Gray Stepp & Lafitte as an associate.

The Richland County Court Appointed Special Advocates, a non-profit organization dedicated to advocating for the best interests of abused and neglected children in Richland County Family Court by providing quality volunteer and legal representation to ensure every child a safe, permanent and nurturing home, was awarded a $2,500 grant from the Plum Creek Foundation.

Allyson T. DeHart, supervisor tax & consulting for The Hobbs Group, has received the CPA designation from the South Carolina Board of Accountancy.

National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) has awarded the Columbia Museum of Art a $10,000 grant to support Arts & Draughts, a new audience initiative at the museum.

Dwayne Wilson has been named president and CEO at Savannah River Nuclear Solutions, LLC.

Henry W. Brown, Mark Knight, Susi McWilliams, Edward G. Menzie, and Rick Mendoza of Nexsen Pruet have been named to the 2012 Lawyers of the Year.

Eric Shick has been named Columbia International University’s first women’s volleyball coach.

Evelyn Clary has joined the Eric Loebs Allstate Insurance Agency Inc. of Columbia as a licensed insurance representative.

Amy Stone, interim executive director of the Carolina Alumni Association, has been elected secretary of the university and of the University of South Carolina’s Board of Trustees.

Linda G. Burnside, owner of LGB Interiors, has been featured in the publication, Interiors Southeast. Dr. Wayne Carver, Dr. Jeanette Ford, Dr. Deborah Greenhouse, John Magill, Dr. Tan Platt, Dr. Jim Raymond, Dr. Rodney Reid, Dr. Leigh Watson, Robert Watson, and Maggie Wentzky, with the University of South Carolina School of Medicine, have been awarded the Dean’s Distinguished Service Medal. Samuel C. Waters, Reginald P. Corley, Ellie C. Floyd, Cynthia Durham Blair, Rex Casterline, Lisa M. Hostetler, Robert P. Wood, Stuart Lee, T. McRoy Shelley III, Kristine L. Cato, and Angela Kirby of Rogers Townsend & Thomas, PC attorneys have been named to the Greater Columbia Business Monthly’s 2011 Legal Elite.

Return to top