2011-09-23 / Business

Folks about town

Jeff Griffin, business development at Mashburn Construction, has been appointed to the board of directors at the Palmetto Conservation Foundation (PCF).

Mary Helen Wood, CPSM, has joined Mashburn Construction as marketing director.

Ronnie Kinnett, Property Management Division head for the Richland County Recreation Commission, has been honored as the 2011 SCRPA Professional of the Year.

Sheriff Leon Lott has been honored by the Richland County Recreation Commission with the Local Official of the Year award.

George E. Knight Jr., MAI has been recognized as the Appraisal Institute’s September “Volunteer of Distinction” for Region IX.

Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte, LLC has been named one of the leading appellate firms in the United States Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals by Benchmark: Appellate. Additionally, the guide has named Sowell Gray members Thornwell Sowell, and Robert Stepp as local stars.

David C. Lockwood III, CCIM, SIOR of Colliers International, has been awarded the 2011 South Carolina REALTOR® of the Year Award.

Ellen M. Adams of Collins & Lacy, P.C., has been elected managing partner of the statewide business defense law firm.

The Columbia Design League, a membership affiliate group of the Columbia Museum of Art has added eight new members to its board for the 2011-2012 term: Jill Armbruster, Heather Bauer, Liz Crum, Kristian Niemi, Doug Quackenbush, Tripp Riley, Jodi Salter, and Maria Vick. Returning Columbia Design League board members are Jackie Adams, Gene Bell, Heidi Darr-Hope, Robin Dial, Sara June Goldstein, Lar ry Hembree, Chris Merck, Adrienne Montare, Elizabeth Nkuo Johnson, Mark Pointer, Anna Redwine, Tom Savory, Amy Shumaker, Dalvin Spann, and Christian Thee. The Home Builders Association of Greater Columbia 2011 Tour of Homes winners are Under $150,000, Best Overall, # 23, The Byrnes by Hallmark Homes, Hampton Forest; $151,000- $200,000, Best Overall, #11, The Drayton by Holiday Builders, Cherokee Village, Lexington; Honorable Mention, #26, Aboreta by Villas Construction an Epcon Communities Builder, Peach Grove Villas, Elgin; $201,000- $300,000, Best Overall (Tie), # 46 The Bar rington by Holiday Builders, Eagles Nest, Chapin; and #49, The William II by Crown Communities, Rose Oaks, Irmo; Honorable Mention, #14, The Askins by Ensight Homes, Summerlake, Lexington; Honorable Mention, #37, The Calhoun by Hal lmark Homes, Lake Carolina; $301,000-$400,000, Best Overall, # 5, The Columbia 4 by Lifestone Residential, Saluda River Club, Lexington; Honorable Mention, # 39, The Lexington by Essex Homes, SE, Longcreek, Blythewood; $401,000-$500,000, Best Overall, #1, The Cullowhee by Lifestone Residential, Saluda River Club, Lexington. JoAnn Turnquist, president and CEO of the Central Carolina Community Foundation (CCCF), has been appointed to the RCPL Board of Trustees by Richland County Council.

Pure Power Technologies has received Manufacturer of the Year Award by South Carolina Manufacturing Extension Partnership.

Bethany J. McKinney of Abacus Planning Group, Inc. has completed all requirements for the CFP ® credential.

Return to top