2005-01-21 / News

Folks about town

Bill BradshawBill Bradshaw The Palmetto Health Foundation board of directors’ new officers are chair, Bill Bradshaw , president BTC Enterprises; vice chair, Joyce Martin Hampton , owner Farewell Farm and community volunteer; treasurer, Uwe Wetzel , CEO, Siemens Diesel Systems Technology; and secretary, Wallace Brown , executive director/CEO, Richland Community Healthcare Association. Board members elected to serve three–year terms include Charlotte Berry , community volunteer; Alan Kahn , president, Kahn Development Company; Phillips McDowell , financial advisor, Merrill Lynch Caskey Group; Ann Milligan , realtor, Russell & Jeffcoat; and Curt Rone , CFO, The Loxcreen Company.

Nat RoersNat Roers

Nat Roers has been named co–anchor of News 19 at 5 am, 6 am, and noon.

Robert HazelRobert Hazel

Harry M. Lightsey III, president of BellSouth in SC, has been elected a Class B director of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. His three–year term began January 1, 2005.

Robert D. Hazel, has been named a partner with the law firm of Moore, Taylor & Thomas, P.A. Hazel, retired vice president of Public Affairs for SCANA Corporation, joined Moore, Taylor & Thomas following his graduation from SC School of Law.

The Central Carolina Community Foundation has named Communicare as the recipient of the 2004 David W. Robinson Catalyst Award.

The SC Wildlife Federationhonored Midlands conservationists with awards: SC DHEC SC Early Action Compact , Air Award; Edens & Avant , Organization Award; and Lexington County Council , Forestry Award;

McGregor and Company, L.L.P. celebrated its 75th anniversary January 13 with a reception at the new Columbia Metropolitian Convention Center. McGregor and its predecessor company have been in business continually since 1930.

Frank D. Clark was inducted into the SC Housing Hall of Fame, an event held by the Home Builders Association of SC.

Return to top