2004-12-03 / Education

Dianne Luce selected as Governor’s Professor of the Year

Contributed by Midlands Technical College

Contributed by Midlands Technical College

Dr. Dianne Luce
Dr. Dianne Luce

Governor Mark Sanford announced this year’s Professors of the Year during a press conference at the SC State House. Midlands Technical College’s English instructor Dr. Dianne Luce was named the award recipient for two–year colleges.

The SC Commission on Higher Education selects recipients annually to recognize excellence in teaching in the state’s institutions of higher education. This is the third time in the past four years a Midlands Technical College instructor has been selected to receive this honor. Last year Dr. Martha Hanks was the recipient.

Dr. Dianne Luce has been an educator for 22 years, 20 of which have been spent at Midlands Technical College. During those years she has served as instructor, coordinator of transfer programs, associate dean, and department chair. In each of these capacities, Dr. Luce has sought what best contributes to student success and has worked with students, other faculty, and administrators to accomplish her goals. She employs multiple teaching strategies including class discussion, conferencing, small group work, peer review, workshops, mini–lectures, and guided in–class work.

Current chair of the MTC English department, Diane Carr, assesses Dianne’s teaching. “In observing Dianne’s class, I was struck by her clear instruction and advice on the research process, the attention she paid to the skills students were learning, and the good rapport she had established with and among her students.”

Dr. Luce has received numerous prestigious teaching honors at local, national, and international levels:

• 1992 Hayes–Crolley Distinguished Lecturer in Arts & Sciences, Midlands Technical College

• 1992 NISOD (National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development) Award for Excellence in Teaching

• 1996 Visiting Fellow, Department of English, Australian National University, Canberra, Australia

“While serving as department chair, she kept faculty and staff focused on student needs as they revised curriculum and integrated technology,” said Ron Drayton, MTC’s vice president of Arts and Sciences. “Dianne constantly reminded her colleagues about the importance of focusing on learning and learning outcomes as they considered new and innovative educational approaches.”

Dr. Luce is also active in various professional organizations helping her to stay current with the latest research in her field. These professional memberships also allow her to share her expertise with the scholarly community. Some of her memberships include:

• President, Cormac McCarthy Society, 1998–present

• Editorial Advisory Board, Cormac McCarthy Journal, 1997 – present

• Vice President, Cormac McCarthy Society, 1995–1998

• President, SC Association of Departments of English, 2002–2003

• President, South Atlantic Association of Departments of English, 2000–2001

• Vice President, South Atlantic Association of Departments of English, 1999–2000

• Administrative Committee, South Atlantic Association of Departments of English, 1998–2000

Dr. Dianne Luce received her bachelor of science degree in English from the University of Minnesota–Duluth in 1969. She later received her master of arts degree in English from University of Chicago in 1973. In 1980, Luce obtained her Doctor of Philosophy degree from USC.

The Commission on Higher Education has selected 22 faculty members as recipients for the Governor’s Professor of the Year from 1988 to 2002, 11 from public senior institutions, four from private senior institutions, and seven from public two–year institutions. Recipients are selected from written nomination forms and supporting materials and are also interviewed by the selection committee.

Return to top